How to merge duplicate Google My Business listings

Professor M
Professor M

Professor & Expert in Google My Business, Local Google Search, Google Local Ads, Local Marketing

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on email

Table of Contents

Why

You have one or more duplicates and you are in doubt whether to merge or remove the duplicate. Note: when you merge listings you also merge photos, reviews, Q&A.

How do you decide if you can merge or not? I built a quick and easy quiz to help you decide.

First check if you have reviews:

  • Yes, the more reviews you have the better it is, go to the next question »

Are the reviews generally positive?

  • Yes, of course, it’s better if they are positive, go to the next question »

Is it an old location you moved from?

Note: it cannot be a location that was opened and you decided to “permanently closed” it.

Does that location have a similar address as your main listing? 

  • Yes, Congrats you can merge both listings!
  • No, then no bother and remove it»

How To Merge Google My Business Listings

Now you know you can merge, I will show you how to do it… It’s easy as only Google Support can merge listings, however…

As Google support cannot merge 2 verified listings, we have 3 scenarios:

In all scenarios, when requesting to merge listings you need to specify to Support that you want the reviews on the duplicate to be transferred over. 

Scenario 1 – How to merge your listing with a duplicate(s) that is unverified

  1. Open Google Maps – https://www.google.com/maps/
  1. Find the location you want to merge with
  1. Copy the Map URL Link
  1. Contact Support asking to merge both listings, you will need to provide them with yours and duplicate’s Google Maps URL Links. Within 7 days you should have an answer.

Scenario 2 – How to merge your listing with a duplicate(s) that is verified and managed by you

You need to unverify your duplicate first before asking to merge.

  1. Go to “Manage locations” on the menu on the left 
  1. Click on the duplicate location you want to remove, make sure that you’re not removing the wrong location
  1. Go to the “Info” tab on the menu on the left
  1. On the right-hand side, click on “Remove listing”
  1. Open Google Maps – https://www.google.com/maps/
  1. Find the location you want to merge with
  1. Copy the Map URL Link
  1. Contact Support asking to merge both listings, you will need to provide them with yours and duplicate’s Google Maps URL Links. Within 7 days you should have an answer.

Scenario 3 – How to merge your listing with a duplicate(s) that is verified and managed by someone else

  1. Follow these instructions to request access to the listing
  2. After you have access to the profile, please follow Scenario 2 instructions»

How to mark an old listing as moved and transfer reviews

If you moved from a location to another location and instead of updating the address on Google My Business as per correct procedure, you created a new listing.

To transfer reviews to the new listing and mark the old listing as “moved”, you will need to ask Google My Business Support to do this. Just follow Scenario 1 procedure, but on the last step, you write “moved business” on the first step of the contact form.

Google My Business Merge Q&A

Now choose your next chapter:

If you liked this article, please share:)
Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on LinkedIN
Share on pinterest
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Email
Share on tumblr
Share on Tumblr
Share on reddit
Share on Reddit
To receive Tips, News, Discounts
sign up for my newsletter now