How to remove Google My Business duplicates

Professor M
Professor M

Professor & Expert in Google My Business, Local Google Search, Google Local Ads, Local Marketing

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on email

Table of Contents

Why

Google My Business duplicates are harmful so you need to remove them as soon as you can. There are many reasons why your listing has duplicates, check the first part of the guide.

How to Remove Google My Business’ duplicates Steps

We have 4  scenarios when it comes to resolving the duplicates issue:

  1. The duplicate(s) is unverified
  2. The duplicate is verified and managed by you with Duplicate Warning
  3. The duplicate is verified and managed by you without Duplicate Warning
  4. The duplicate is verified and managed by someone else without Duplicate Warning

Before following any instructions below, always make sure you check both listings to see if any reviews need to be moved. If there is, please check my guide: How to merge duplicate Google Business Listings

Scenario 1 – How to remove Google My Business’ duplicates listings when the duplicate(s) is unverified

This scenario is the most common scenario. You either find the duplicate yourself or get a warning notice from Google and when you check the duplicate you can see that it is an unverified listing.

Resolution Steps:

  1. Open Google Maps – https://www.google.com/maps/
  1. Find the location you want to report
  1. Click “Suggest an edit”
  1. Mark the location as “Close or Remove”
  1. Select “Duplicate of another place” as the reason
  1. Choose the correct listing 
  1. Press “Send”

8. After 3 days, Contact Google support to delete the duplicate. Advise them of the duplicate issue and give them the Map link for both listings. Be really clear of what you want so Support will not end up closing the correct listing.

Scenario 2 – How to remove Google My Business’ duplicates listings when the duplicate(s) is verified and manage by you with Duplicate Warning

This scenario is the second most common scenario, you will get a notice that one of your verified listings is duplicate of another.

Resolution Steps:

  1. Go to “Manage locations” on the menu on the left 
  1. Click on the duplicate location you want to remove, make sure that you’re not removing the wrong location
  1. Go to the “Info” tab on the menu on the left
  1. On the right-hand side, click on “Remove listing”
  1. The duplicate now should have disappeared 

6. If after 3 days the duplicate is still live, Contact support to delete the duplicate. Advise them of the duplicate issue and give them the Map link for both listings. Be really clear of what you want so Support will not end up closing the correct listing.

Scenario 3 – How to remove Google My Business’ duplicates listings when the duplicate(s) is verified and manage by you without Duplicate Warning 

This scenario is not the most common scenario. You know you have a duplicate but Google didn’t notice yet or you found and verified a duplicate as your listing has been filtered out.

Resolution Steps:

  • Start by removing the location from your account
  1. Go to “Manage locations” on the menu on the left 
  1. Click on the duplicate location you want to remove, make sure that you’re not removing the wrong location
  1. Go to the “Info” tab on the menu on the left
  1. On the right-hand side, click on “Remove listing”
  • Then, request removal of the duplicate from Google Map
  1. Open Google Maps – https://www.google.com/maps/
  1. Find the location you want to report
  1. Click “Suggest an edit”
  1. Mark the location as “Close or Remove”
  1. Select “Duplicate of another place” as the reason
  1. Choose the correct listing and press “Send”
  1. After 3 days, Contact support to delete the duplicate. Advise them of the duplicate issue and give them the Map link for both listings. Be really clear of what you want so Support will not end up closing the correct listing.

Scenario 4 – How to remove Google My Business’ duplicates listings when the duplicate(s) is verified and manage by someone else with/without Duplicate Warning 

  1. Follow these instructions to request access to the listing
  2. After you have access to the profile, please follow Scenario 2 if you get a duplicate warning or Scenario 3 if you don’t get one.

Now choose your next chapter:

If you liked this article, please share:)
Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on LinkedIN
Share on pinterest
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Email
Share on tumblr
Share on Tumblr
Share on reddit
Share on Reddit
To receive Tips, News, Discounts
sign up for my newsletter now